November 16, 2018

Progressive Stages In Ācāra

PROGRESSIVE STAGES IN ĀCĀRA - Introduction to Tantra Arthur Avalon There are seven, or, as some say, nine, divisions of worshippers. The extra divisions are bracketed in the following quotation. The Kulārṇava-Tantra mentions seven, which are given in their order of superiority, the first being the lowest: Vedācāra, Vaiṣṇavācāra, Śaivācāra, Dakṣiṇācāra, Vāmācāra, Siddhāntācāra, (Aghorācāra, Yogācāra), and Kaulācāra, the highest of all.  The ācāra is the way, custom and practice of a particular class of sādhakas. They are not, as sometimes supposed, different sects, but stages through which the worshipper in this or other births has to pass before he reaches…
Read More

All rights reserved Salient.